• You cannot reply to this topic

Attention all sight users! A debate on sights. Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is offline   haloboy 

• Forum Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Brigade Name:haloboy

Post icon  Posted 17 August 2006 - 04:32 PM

My father says that sights are just a "Gimic" and are put on paintball guns for the look. He said that since paintball guns are shooting non-rifled projectiles it is not exactally accurate and a scope or red dot sight would be useless because the paintballs wouldnt go where the sight or dot is pointing.Now what im asking is do you think sights are useful and if so how?I see people using them all the time and I used to think that they were useless on paintball guns but im no expert so why not learn from others.

#2 User is offline   Churp 

• Forum Member
  • PipPip
  • Brigade Name:Churp

Posted 17 August 2006 - 07:40 PM

My sight works fine for me. With a good barrel, a good paint to bore match, and proper velocity settings ( around 270 FPS is where I shoot best ) paintballs are actually pretty accurate at reasonable ranges. ATM I'm using the sight that came stock on my A-5, so you don't even really need anything fancy.

Keep in mind though, the further away someone is, the better the chance that the paintball will go off course.

As for how, I play as a sniper. I like to spend the least amount of paint possible per kill, the best scenario being a one shot kill. Usually I take my shots when someone is anywhere between 10-60 feet away. The closer the better, and the sight takes the guesswork out of my shot.

Churp

#3 User is offline   raptorbite 

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • Brigade Name:raptorbite

Posted 17 August 2006 - 07:49 PM

hmm non rifled ehh?ever heard of smoothbored rifles?
I miss the old days of sword beach and such

#4 User is offline   TheDarkRacer 

• Forum Member
  • PipPip
  • Brigade Name:The Mechanic

Posted 17 August 2006 - 08:09 PM