Special Ops Paintball: Gateway laptop... - Special Ops Paintball

Jump to content


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Gateway laptop...

#1 User is offline   tauman5263 

  • Sophomore Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 387
  • Joined: 21-February 07

Posted 27 November 2007 - 06:29 PM

i'm looking to sell my laptop but i have no idea what its worth. here are the specs:

Windows XP Pro
Microsoft Office Pro Suite
Intel Pentium Dual-Core (2.8GHz)
512Mb RAM
40 Gb Hard Drive
Wireless-G PCI Adapter
DVD/CD Drive (does not burn dvds only reads them. it does burn CDs though)
15 inch screen (not exactly, it looked about three inches larger than my ruler...)

I'm selling it with the power cord and a really nice laptop case (cost ~$40)

i think thats everything. what do you think?
The signature in this location has been removed due to FORUM RULES VIOLATIONS. Please check this link : FORUM SIGNATURE RULES AND REGS and feel free to repost your signature according to the guidelines set by this forum.

Content inappropriate
0

#2 User is offline   oerllikon 

  • All closed bolt.... Awwww yeeaah
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 967
  • Joined: 09-May 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Western Wisconsin
  • Brigade Name:SIA5 Dagger

Posted 29 November 2007 - 08:32 PM

hmm, are you sure thats a dual core cpu? depending on the processor, i could give you a pretty accurate price, i think. are you sure its not a pentium 4? i know the pentium ds are that fast, but i dont think they tossed those in laptops.
0

#3 User is offline   tauman5263 

  • Sophomore Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 387
  • Joined: 21-February 07

Posted 30 November 2007 - 07:39 PM

my computer reads two cores running at 2.8ghz. i'll check later to make sure, but i'm almost sure it is.

i'll do a little research since i'm online now [on my other computer]. i'm really anxious to get this thing sold, so the faster you can get me a price, the faster i can start selling.
The signature in this location has been removed due to FORUM RULES VIOLATIONS. Please check this link : FORUM SIGNATURE RULES AND REGS and feel free to repost your signature according to the guidelines set by this forum.

Content inappropriate
0

#4 User is offline   oerllikon 

  • All closed bolt.... Awwww yeeaah
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 967
  • Joined: 09-May 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Western Wisconsin
  • Brigade Name:SIA5 Dagger

Posted 30 November 2007 - 09:30 PM

oh, i know what it is... its a pentium 4 with hyper threading. its read as 2 cores by windows xp. yeah, you could probably expect 300-350 out of it.(to a computer geek) probably like 400 to just an average user. good luck
0

#5 User is offline   tauman5263 

  • Sophomore Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 387
  • Joined: 21-February 07

Posted 01 December 2007 - 08:23 PM

yeah, i ran cpu-z on it last night which told me it only has one core. also found out a bit more about the RAM. i'm not selling it anymore though. my mom ust told me if i gave her my laptop, that she would buy me parts for the desktop i'm going to build. so technically, i'm getting more than $400 out of it.

BTW, i was thinking about upgrading the RAM in it so maybe it would run a little faster [for my mom], do you know if any ram would be compatible [granted that its the right kind, which i got all the info from cpu-z]. i'm thinking corsair RAM would be able to work. can you help me out with how much RAM the laptop supports? here's some more specs:

Gateway M520
Chipset: Intel i855GM/GME
Southbridge: Intel 82801PB (ICH4-M)

RAM is PC 2700 by the way.

any help would be greatly appreciated.
The signature in this location has been removed due to FORUM RULES VIOLATIONS. Please check this link : FORUM SIGNATURE RULES AND REGS and feel free to repost your signature according to the guidelines set by this forum.

Content inappropriate
0

#6 User is offline   oerllikon 

  • All closed bolt.... Awwww yeeaah
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 967
  • Joined: 09-May 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Western Wisconsin
  • Brigade Name:SIA5 Dagger

Posted 03 December 2007 - 09:31 PM

hey, did a little research, granted the 512mb stick of ram you had on the laptop,came like that from the factory, you can put a total of 1 gig of ram(another 512 mb stick)
corsair is good stuff. you need to look for 200 pin sodimm ddr ram.
good luck
check out www.newegg.com
or www.tigerdirect.com
0

#7 User is offline   lucatorta 

  • Forum Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: 24-November 06
  • Location:stlouis,mo (concord)
  • Brigade Name:F.R.A.T.

Posted 03 December 2007 - 09:47 PM

check ebay for the same laptop. that will get you a ballpark price of what it is worth.
gotta love this nation!!

HEY FREEDOM ISN'T FREE YOU HAVE TO FIGHT FOR IT.
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users