Special Ops Paintball: Just bought a new laptop - Special Ops Paintball

Jump to content


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Just bought a new laptop need help on logging onto the internet Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is offline   Alexcaron700 

  • Forum Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 108
  • Joined: 23-December 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Charlotte, NC
  • Brigade Name:Trigger Alex

Posted 24 August 2008 - 03:33 PM

I bought a laptop today at circuit city and when i turned it on after charging it i noticed that there was a supervisor password on the internet explorer, I called the store and the told me that I would need to bring it in for them to remove the password off of it. I was wondering if anybody there knew a way to remove the password without having to take it in. The store I bought it from is a little ways away from where i live so if any of you knew anything the help would be greatly appreciated.
Yes I found religion.
I found it to be completely worthless.
0

#2 User is offline   xVIPERx 

  • Acta Non Verba
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 378
  • Joined: 24-November 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Winchester, MA
  • Brigade Name:xVIPERx

Posted 24 August 2008 - 04:24 PM

I doubt it. Sounds to me like a company device, so you most likely have to bring it right to them.
Acta Non Verba-"Actions Not Words"


0

#3 User is offline   stevezissu 

  • Forum Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 214
  • Joined: 01-March 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:missoula mt
  • Brigade Name:stevezissu

Posted 24 August 2008 - 04:26 PM

see if the password is circut city?
Sz
0

#4 User is offline   Alexcaron700 

  • Forum Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 108
  • Joined: 23-December 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Charlotte, NC
  • Brigade Name:Trigger Alex

Posted 24 August 2008 - 04:27 PM

View Poststevezissu, on Aug 24 2008, 04:26 PM, said:

see if the password is circut city?
Sz

Tried, didn't work
Yes I found religion.
I found it to be completely worthless.
0

#5 User is offline   ::SARGE:: 

  • ::SARGE::
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 169
  • Joined: 19-August 05
  • Location:Charleston, WV
  • Brigade Name:Sarge

Posted 24 August 2008 - 06:16 PM

Unfortunatly, Your going to have to take it in, unless it came with one of those nifty Windows OS disk that allows you to pretty much format, and re-install the OS. That in itself would Definately Blow out the password
Posted Image
Posted Image
0

#6 User is offline   WardenWolf 

  • Aspie Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 6,553
  • Joined: 29-September 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Phoenix, AZ
  • Brigade Name:WardenWolf

Posted 24 August 2008 - 06:27 PM

That machine was a display model. If it was not marked as such, demand a full refund on threat of lawsuit.

Kanye: "Yo, Chile, I'm gonna let you finish shakin', but I just got to say Haiti had one of the best earthquakes of all time!"
Save a tree: wipe your ass with a hippie!
0

#7 User is offline   Alexcaron700 

  • Forum Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 108
  • Joined: 23-December 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Charlotte, NC
  • Brigade Name:Trigger Alex

Posted 24 August 2008 - 06:41 PM

no it was marked as a display model, it came with the warranty the regular ones do and all the accessories, i was just curious about the internet
Yes I found religion.
I found it to be completely worthless.
0

#8 User is offline   WardenWolf 

  • Aspie Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 6,553
  • Joined: 29-September 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Phoenix, AZ
  • Brigade Name:WardenWolf

Posted 24 August 2008 - 06:52 PM

I'd run through the restore procedures and totally reload it. Those stores put some nasty restrictions on them that aren't always easy to remove.

Kanye: "Yo, Chile, I'm gonna let you finish shakin', but I just got to say Haiti had one of the best earthquakes of all time!"
Save a tree: wipe your ass with a hippie!
0

#9 User is offline   Marauder_Pilot 

  • Thrilling Heroics
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3,237
  • Joined: 10-May 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Whitehorse, Yukon
  • Brigade Name:Marauder_Pilot

Posted 24 August 2008 - 06:55 PM

Yeah, nuke it from orbit (Reformat and reinstall Windows). Brand-name PCs from stores always come loaded with loads of crapware (And Norton *Shudder*).
0

#10 User is offline   Alexcaron700 

  • Forum Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 108
  • Joined: 23-December 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Charlotte, NC
  • Brigade Name:Trigger Alex

Posted 24 August 2008 - 07:00 PM

Yea it asked me if I wanted to setup Norton, I thought it was best not to
Yes I found religion.
I found it to be completely worthless.
0

#11 User is offline   Marauder_Pilot 

  • Thrilling Heroics
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3,237
  • Joined: 10-May 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Whitehorse, Yukon
  • Brigade Name:Marauder_Pilot

Posted 24 August 2008 - 07:49 PM

NEVER, EVER USE NORTON.

Norton is more destructive, inconveniencing and and disruptive then 99% of the viruses it stops. I would rather run my computer unprotected with the virtual equivalent of a flashing neon sign saying 'PLEASE INFECT MY COMPUTER' then Norton.

You want to know how I fix most of the computers in my shop that come in on complaints of being slow? Remove Norton and install AVG. (Yes, I know AVG is a system hog, but it's very user-friendly, and leagues better then Norton).
0

#12 User is offline   WardenWolf 

  • Aspie Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 6,553
  • Joined: 29-September 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Phoenix, AZ
  • Brigade Name:WardenWolf

Posted 24 August 2008 - 10:51 PM

View PostMarauder_Pilot, on Aug 24 2008, 07:49 PM, said:

NEVER, EVER USE NORTON.

Norton is more destructive, inconveniencing and and disruptive then 99% of the viruses it stops. I would rather run my computer unprotected with the virtual equivalent of a flashing neon sign saying 'PLEASE INFECT MY COMPUTER' then Norton.

You want to know how I fix most of the computers in my shop that come in on complaints of being slow? Remove Norton and install AVG. (Yes, I know AVG is a system hog, but it's very user-friendly, and leagues better then Norton).


Quoted for freaking TRUTH!

UGH, if you've ever seen how many registry entries and files Norton puts on your computer (well over 600 registry entries alone), you'd NEVER use it again. Norton screws with stuff that's not designed to be screwed with. AVG most certainly IS better, and you can turn it OFF when you need the performance.

Kanye: "Yo, Chile, I'm gonna let you finish shakin', but I just got to say Haiti had one of the best earthquakes of all time!"
Save a tree: wipe your ass with a hippie!
0

#13 User is offline   Tommikka 

  • Tom
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 811
  • Joined: 28-May 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Salisbury, UK
  • Brigade Name:tommikka

Posted 25 August 2008 - 03:52 AM

Try one of the following, but be careful in REGEDIT

To start REGEDIT choose:
Select START, RUN, REGEDIT, OKRemoving Lost IE Supervisor Password:


SUPERVISOR PASSWORD:
Start Regedit
Go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE \ Software \ Microsoft \ Windows \ CurrentVersion \ Policies
Delete the Ratings key

CONTENT ADVISOR PASSWORD:
Start Regedit
Go to H_KEY_LOCAL_MACHINE/Software/Microsoft/Windows/Current Version/Policies/Ratings
Delete the entry called Key
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users