• You cannot reply to this topic

Selecting a Replacement Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is offline   platinum marksman 

• paintballer
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Brigade Name:platinum marksman

Posted 12 April 2009 - 04:17 PM

I've been commanding a team for two years now. I leave for college in a little less than three months. I need to select a replacement commander. My NCO is leaving for the summer as well. Unfortunately I see no potential in any of the other players on the team. Its one of those situations where each player is good at what he does but each temperament does not get along with another. I'm afraid that if I put one guy in charge I'd lose half the team. Prolly mostly my fault. I built the team in two separate squads. I trained the squads to be very competitive with each other. Granted the squads have become excellent at their craft, but my NCO and I are really the only mediators between the two.
Recruiting isn't a real option due to the low selection of people to play around here. Plus it takes time for a commander to earn respect. I know my team wouldn't like that either. They're very picky on who they follow. I'm afraid this might be the end of the team...Suggestions anyone?

Lead, and if necessary, use words.

#2 User is offline   rcp_90 

• RECON!
  • PipPip
  • Brigade Name:rcp_90

Posted 12 April 2009 - 07:42 PM

I know your pain all too well, active duty military being what it is. I'm going to tell you what worked for me and our situation.

Basically, I didn't pass off the torch completely. My last even before I left, I rotated out some of my senior people to get some time in the hot seat. My team's "XO" did an acceptably poor job of the whole thing and I felt somewhat comfortable letting him take over in my absence. I stayed on the team though, I didn't quit or anything, because I knew I wouldn't be gone forever and I still could take leave for our big events.