Special Ops Paintball: SP-1 Do I sell my tipp A5 for it? - Special Ops Paintball

Jump to content


  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

SP-1 Do I sell my tipp A5 for it?

#1 User is offline   DaggerofBWUK 

  • Theknightofbwuk-dagger styley
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 123
  • Joined: 08-May 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Gloustershire England

Posted 20 April 2009 - 01:13 PM

Well do I?
I've had my Tippmann A5 for about a year and a bit now and over the last few months it's been a pain in the behind. First the cyclone doesn't feed, then I got a few burst o-rings inside or something but it's leaking CO2 like a mother-[dog woman]

But I heard somewhere that the SP-1 doesn't like co2 and thats all we have around these parts, other than the bristol skirmish (long way away) that use HPA but they don't allow you to use your own gun unless it's a walk on and we don't have enough players with there own guns to use.

I do already own a HPA tank 48cu 3000psi, completely untouched but is that big enough to last say 8 hours paintballing? I'm thinking perhaps I could have the tank filled at the bristol skirmish place when we go there and then use the air tank with the SP1 at the regular field when we go there.

I heard somewhere that if you use co2 on the SP1 it can damage the gun, is that right?

I've been trying to find the answers to these questions for ages now and I'm hopeless at it =P

Sorry for throwing newbie dropping everywhere, but you know...
"May be the new kid on the block
but that don't really matter
'Cos I is from Gloucestershire
and I can drive a tra-ar"
0

#2 User is offline   trustme 

  • Sophomore Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 299
  • Joined: 12-June 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:some paintball field
  • Brigade Name:tippywoodsballin

Posted 20 April 2009 - 01:52 PM

well the SP-1 has the MAXFLOW R reg which is a reg with a release valve for co2 so it should be good, just I read you have to different settings on the board CO2 and a HPA setting. Now the 48 3000psi will get you roughly 600 shots so if you can last on that then that tank will work.
setups=BT TM-7, Double Trigger, Lapco 12" apex ready, Apex barrel, Rotor
Infinity legend, 68/45, cp reg, new designz asa
0

#3 User is offline   Nom Carver 

  • My browser PWNS yours!!!
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 193
  • Joined: 21-December 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Shh! I'm hiding!

Posted 20 April 2009 - 02:30 PM

Do you have any sort of scuba shop near you, they will usually fill any type of HPA tank. As for upgrading to an SP1, YES, do it. I would recommend getting some sort of electronic hopper, such as this one. I have no idea if that is a good price, as I live in the US, but if you can find a better price, go for it.

PS: If you do have a scuba shop nearby, I would recommend getting a carbon fiber tank, as they are bigger and can hold more air and pressure, so, more shots per tank.
(\__,,
( x x) <--- This is Bunny if I see him in one more signature...
(")_ -==(")
Dear Tippmann, Clamshells suck. Signed, Friggin everybody - F-3
feedback My How to paint snakeskin how-to; OMG!!!
0

#4 User is offline   prettylou98 

  • Forum Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 65
  • Joined: 12-September 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:piscataway NJ

Posted 20 April 2009 - 04:52 PM

SP1 FTW!! Is will work just fine on Co2. Just make sure you use the Co2 dwell setting and your fine. Its a great gun for the price.



Proudly Sponsored by
Special Ops, DYE Precision, QuickShot Paintball, FogDoc.com, PBWaterPod
0

#5 User is offline   Match99 

  • Hmph. He tried to take me marker.
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 640
  • Joined: 04-April 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hibbing

Posted 20 April 2009 - 09:09 PM

CO2 works great on it, I've never once had a problem with it. And yes, please upgrade to the SP1, its 5x better than your A5.
0

#6 User is offline   DaggerofBWUK 

  • Theknightofbwuk-dagger styley
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 123
  • Joined: 08-May 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Gloustershire England

Posted 21 April 2009 - 02:53 PM

Haha I love the way it's all for the SP1, wonder if I post the same thing on the tippmann board they would rip the hell out of me for even thinking this.

Anywho, thanks for the advice, any ideas on what kind of add-ons I should get? I'd be happy if it had iron sights but it's a directly vertical feed. I'm thinking about a reflex sight to mount on the side rail and a red/green dot laser on the top/bottom rail. I guess it'll be a bit like lego with all those rails...

As for the hopper, yes it is a good price, it's about half an Xbox game =P

This post has been edited by DaggerofBWUK: 21 April 2009 - 02:55 PM

"May be the new kid on the block
but that don't really matter
'Cos I is from Gloucestershire
and I can drive a tra-ar"
0

#7 User is offline   Gilla 

  • Action shot!
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 338
  • Joined: 01-March 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Michigan
  • Brigade Name:gilla

Posted 21 April 2009 - 02:59 PM

I'd stay with the a-5, but I like being waterproof to 10 ft. :(
Who flung poo?
0

#8 User is offline   DaggerofBWUK 

  • Theknightofbwuk-dagger styley
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 123
  • Joined: 08-May 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Gloustershire England

Posted 21 April 2009 - 03:11 PM

hehe, lucky for me I don't have to ford the Thames river at all =D

Just found this on the site that Nom Carver sent, my friend wants a non full head mask so I can sell that to him at a tenner and then I also have another HPA tank so as Trustme said I could get 600 shots from both, pretty good, that'll last me and then I can change to Co2 for games on the farm, I have a potential buyer for the Tippmann (another friend).

But does anyone know anything about the 'overdrive II' hopper? pbreview only has the older version listed...
"May be the new kid on the block
but that don't really matter
'Cos I is from Gloucestershire
and I can drive a tra-ar"
0

#9 User is offline   ChurchTRPT 

  • Forum Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 49
  • Joined: 29-September 07
  • Brigade Name:THE CHURCH

Posted 23 April 2009 - 03:31 PM

Definitely get the SP-1. Playing with batteries and buttons will feel a little different at first but you'll get used to it quick.

It's also a lot quieter than the A5.

Check out all the Smart Parts videos on Youtube about the SP-1. See if that helps.

And yes, it'll work just fine on CO2.
"You are my hammer and weapon of war." - Jeremiah 51:20
As I crawl through the valley of the shadow of death I shall fear no evil, for God is behind me with a DOUBLE TROUBLE!

ROUGHNECK PUMPER
0

#10 User is offline   Match99 

  • Hmph. He tried to take me marker.
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 640
  • Joined: 04-April 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hibbing

Posted 23 April 2009 - 10:03 PM

View PostGilla, on Apr 21 2009, 04:59 PM, said:

I'd stay with the a-5, but I like being waterproof to 10 ft. B)

SP1 is perfectly waterproof unless you submerge it for quite a while. Besides, who submerges their marker?
0

#11 User is offline   DaggerofBWUK 

  • Theknightofbwuk-dagger styley
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 123
  • Joined: 08-May 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Gloustershire England

Posted 24 April 2009 - 03:46 PM

thanks for all the feedback but like i said: any info on the overdrive II hopper? not sure if its a step up from #1
"May be the new kid on the block
but that don't really matter
'Cos I is from Gloucestershire
and I can drive a tra-ar"
0

#12 User is offline   Tribs 

  • Real men use 12 grams
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 259
  • Joined: 15-February 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fredericksburg, Va

Posted 24 April 2009 - 04:40 PM

I say stick with the A-5. All you'll be paying for is a faster rate of fire, and that will just be more expensive in the paint budget, along with the added cost of batteries and making sure you don't get gunk in the electronics part.
0

#13 User is offline   Match99 

  • Hmph. He tried to take me marker.
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 640
  • Joined: 04-April 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hibbing

Posted 24 April 2009 - 05:16 PM

View PostTribs, on Apr 24 2009, 06:40 PM, said:

I say stick with the A-5. All you'll be paying for is a faster rate of fire, and that will just be more expensive in the paint budget, along with the added cost of batteries and making sure you don't get gunk in the electronics part.

Also you're paying for better efficiency, accuracy, quieter, easier to take apart, consistency, etc.
If you get gunk in the electronics of an SP1, you deserve to have gunk there.
0

#14 User is offline   mike7822 

  • Aloha!
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 946
  • Joined: 26-September 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United States
  • Brigade Name:MIKE7822

Posted 25 April 2009 - 07:50 PM

I say go with the SP1. Its lighter than the A5, and its more accurate.

This post has been edited by mike7822: 25 April 2009 - 07:50 PM

03 Prostock Pump ♦ 08 Ego
0

#15 User is offline   Minnesota Sn1p3r 

  • Back on the Attack!
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 361
  • Joined: 26-September 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Market, MN
  • Brigade Name:MN Sn1p3r

Posted 25 April 2009 - 09:51 PM

DO IT!!!

A5's are nice but SP-1's are better. The SP-1 is much better in so many different ways.

1.) SP-1 is quiet
2.) Electric (?)
3.) Fast
4.) Accurate

Those are just a few things that the SP-1 has over the A-5. Yes, when the A-5 came out, it was the alpha male of woodsball guns, sadly, this isn't true anymore.

Sell ur Tippy and move on up like the Jeffersons! :laugh:


~~The Horde~~ ;)
"Its better to out-think your enemy than to out-fight them" - Sun Tzu

"I dont like paying for the same realestate twice" - General George S. Patton
0

Share this topic:


  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users