Special Ops Paintball: Regulaters - Special Ops Paintball

Jump to content


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Regulaters Regulaters on an A5 Rate Topic: -----

#1 Guest_Lt.Vortex_*

  • Group: Guests

Posted 25 April 2010 - 10:54 AM

I have a question for you all. I shoot an A5 and would like to put a regulator on it. My marker likes lower pressures (mid 300 fps) so I would like to operate at that pressures. I've talked to guys with regs( they were actually only gauges) who said that they wouldn't work with Co2 because its a liquid. I don't want a gauge, I want to regulate my pressures. I would like to know if I could mount it above my expansion chamber so only air will pass through it. Now I know that if I shoot a lot the liquid will work its way into the reg then its useless, but that's beside the point. I want to know if I can put one above my chamber.
0

#2 User is offline   jtpaintball70 

  • Stock-Class player
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,735
  • Joined: 29-May 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lakewood, CO
  • Brigade Name:JTPaintball70

Posted 25 April 2010 - 10:57 AM

http://www.palmer-pursuit.com/cart/index.p...products_id=896

This is one that would work great for ya
☻/ This is Muhammad.
/▌ 
/ \ Copy and paste him


0

#3 Guest_Lt.Vortex_*

  • Group: Guests

Posted 25 April 2010 - 11:05 AM

Will this regulate Co2 pressure? Co2 is a liquid and if it gets past the reg it will expand and i'm back too the same problem as before. this is my A5 and I would like to put it above the expansion chamber so only air enters the reg.

Attached File(s)


0

#4 User is offline   jtpaintball70 

  • Stock-Class player
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,735
  • Joined: 29-May 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lakewood, CO
  • Brigade Name:JTPaintball70

Posted 25 April 2010 - 11:07 AM

Go ahead and read up here:
http://www.palmer-pursuit.com/cart/index.p...1&chapter=2
It should answer any questions. I ran a stab on my Sim-4 w/ Scepter launcher and it worked perfect.
☻/ This is Muhammad.
/▌ 
/ \ Copy and paste him


0

#5 Guest_Lt.Vortex_*

  • Group: Guests

Posted 25 April 2010 - 11:20 AM

Sounds good. But this is a lot of money (thats not a problem if it works) and it a gun set up change. I'll look into it. Thanks
0

#6 User is offline   US_Army_Guy 

  • Elite
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 158
  • Joined: 24-August 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Carpentersville, IL
  • Brigade Name:US_Army_Guy

Posted 25 April 2010 - 01:53 PM

View PostLt.Vortex, on Apr 25 2010, 12:54 PM, said:

I have a question for you all. I shoot an A5 and would like to put a regulator on it. My marker likes lower pressures (mid 300 fps)


fps is not a pressure, its the speed your marker is shooting paint (feet per second). Now granting you might have meant PSI (pounds per square inch) but for your marker to operate at that low a pressure you'd need an A5 low pressure kit, which you would need a reg anyways. Since your asking about a reg and the fact your said your running an expansion chamber, theres no way you could be running a low pressure kit and as such your A5 is not operating at 300PSI.

Now that I've got that out of the way, lets move on to the question at hand.

Like jtpaintball70 said, look into a Palmers reg. They are one of the best regs around, and when it comes to using Co2 they are hands down the best you can get. They were built to handle Co2 and are by far superior to any crappy expansion chamber. Running Co2 through a palmers would be like shooting a bow and arrow at an Abrams main battle tank, Co2 its gonna come close to making any kind of dent in the reg. Not only will it keep liquid Co2 from entering your marker, it will also keep your velocity more consistent when you go to crono.

If you've got the coinage, dump the expansion chamber and get a palmers.

And yes, I have a Palmers reg on my marker.
0

#7 User is offline   DVLCHLD 

  • Grenade/Tripmine/Landmine specialist
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 4,686
  • Joined: 08-August 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Farmersville, TX
  • Brigade Name:DVLCHLD

Posted 25 April 2010 - 01:58 PM

The Palmer Stabilizer works great with CO2. I would take the exp chamber off and just use the Palmer Stab. When using CO2 I highly recommend using a remote line with the tank carried vertically on a vest or belt along with a Palmer Stab on the marker.
0

#8 Guest_Lt.Vortex_*

  • Group: Guests

Posted 25 April 2010 - 05:30 PM

Yes US_Army_Guy, PSI is what I meant, I was in a rush. Anyway I will look into the whole rig. Will any low pressure kit work? Or is the Palmer the only option and /or the best option.
0

#9 User is offline   US_Army_Guy 

  • Elite
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 158
  • Joined: 24-August 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Carpentersville, IL
  • Brigade Name:US_Army_Guy

Posted 25 April 2010 - 05:56 PM

There is only one low pressure kit for the A5, and to my knowledge Tippmann stopped making them, though you can sometimes find them used on ebay on BST boards. Used in conjunction (meaning the LPK and reg are two separate items) with a reg (such as a palmers), a LPK will lower your operating pressure to somewhere around 450psi. You won't get much a performance boost from them since you still use about the same amount of air per shot. What they will do is quiet your marker considerably. This fact and the $100 price for the kits are the reason they don't make them anymore, they are not worth the cost.


A Palmers is your only option if you really want to run Co2. Most other reg's on the market are designed to handle HPA only and operate at a much lower pressure then a tippmann requires.
0

#10 User is offline   Krazy8 

  • User Defined
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Retired/Inactive Moderator
  • Posts: 2,555
  • Joined: 30-January 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rathdrum , ID
  • Brigade Name:Krazy8

Posted 26 April 2010 - 10:50 AM

The other thing to mention is that many A5s did not operate well using the LPK. The gun simply was not designed to work at the lower pressures and once the kit was added they simply had hicups. Usually small things like velocity and skiped shots but it led to many LPK users to revert back to the stock set up.

It can be done but you are usually looking at different springs, high flow barbs and hose for the cyclone. Plus you usually still end up needing to use a high output HPA tank since you need a presure varience to operate the ssytem correctly and not starve the whole operation during use.

the LPK and a regulator on the A5 is overkill. Take the money you would invest in these items and buy a gun made to operate on those dynamics...in the long run that is the best bet. If you do not want to buy a new gun then simply use the one you have the way it is.
Sinking the money into a Tippmann will not reap you any long term benifits other than bragging rights. The Tippmanns just work good ifyou leave them alone.

I spent countless hours and over $1k modifying my M98. Nearly as much on my A5. Once I returned them back to stock I found they shot just as well as with all the work I did. Wasted money and time.
Wished someone would have warned me beofr I went that route. That was 20 plus guns ago! I have finally found what I like and there is no more tinkering...just shooting people and smiling while I do it!
0

#11 User is offline   Dark Shadow Hunter 

  • Screwball, one each.
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2,502
  • Joined: 10-December 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Michigan
  • Brigade Name:Dark Shadow Hunter

Posted 26 April 2010 - 10:58 AM

View PostKrazy8, on Apr 26 2010, 01:50 PM, said:

....

I spent countless hours and over $1k modifying my M98. Nearly as much on my A5. Once I returned them back to stock I found they shot just as well as with all the work I did. Wasted money and time.
Wished someone would have warned me beofr I went that route. That was 20 plus guns ago! I have finally found what I like and there is no more tinkering...just shooting people and smiling while I do it!



That is the fun of a Tippmann though. The ability to tinker. Same with a 'cocker, but those are finicky.

Krazy8 is right about the low pressure kits though. They are more trouble than they are worth if you can find 'em. I have a 98 that I tweaked the valve some how and it runs great at 500 PSI. I put a volume chamber on it and now it is running at 300 PSI. Only thing is it seems like it uses more air now.
0

#12 User is offline   Krazy8 

  • User Defined
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Retired/Inactive Moderator
  • Posts: 2,555
  • Joined: 30-January 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rathdrum , ID
  • Brigade Name:Krazy8

Posted 26 April 2010 - 11:51 AM

That was also another down fall of the LPK. Air consumption.

And tinker all you want...I like to shoot people and not fix what I thought I fixed!

Maybe I am a bad example of tinkering...
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users