• You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

x chamber vs reg Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is offline   GotPaintball 

• Forum Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members

Posted 01 April 2008 - 05:13 PM

Im new to paintball. I have a a5 with rt and wondering what would be better a reg or a x chamber?

#2 User is offline   Dark Shadow Hunter 

• Screwball, one each.
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Brigade Name:Dark Shadow Hunter

Posted 01 April 2008 - 06:16 PM

Well I assume you are running with CO2 as your air source. Afterall if you are running HPA you really have no need for an expansion chamber.

Personally I would go for a regulator. Palmer's Pursuit Shop makes a line of regulators called Stabilizers that can handle CO2 rather well. The exact set up of you A5 will dictate what Stabilizer you use. However if your A5 is still bone stock I recommend a Male Stabilizer. They have a Male Stabilizer A5 kit that comes with everything you need.

The reason I would go with a regulator is because even with an expansion chamber you still have potential for velocity spikes. All an expansion chamber does is give the CO2 more room to expand before enter the marker's valve. You can still get unpredictable pressure variations as it goes from liquid to gas. With a regulator, you set the pressure coming out of it. That will make your shot to shot consistancy better. A Palmer's Stabilizer does have a 1,000 to 2,000 shot break in period. After it gets broken in though you will see a variation of +/- 5 FPS in your velocity. That is better than the +/- 10 to 20 FPS if running unregulated CO2.

#3 User is offline   M. Deth 

• Motopsycho
  • PipPip
  • Brigade Name:MOTOPSYCHO

Posted 02 April 2008 - 04:49 AM

Skip the expansion chamber. An x-chamber will give you a bit more consistency, a slightly better +/- at the chrono, and maybe even save a few shots worth of air.