Special Ops Paintball: looking for some realism - Special Ops Paintball

Jump to content


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

looking for some realism comparing markers looking for the right one. Rate Topic: -----

Poll: markers? (4 member(s) have cast votes)

what marker would be best for automatic low-profile milsim

  1. tippmann X7 M16 (0 votes [0.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 0.00%

  2. TippmannX7 G36 (1 votes [25.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 25.00%

  3. Tippmann A-5 M-60 (opsgear) (0 votes [0.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 0.00%

  4. other (please specify in thread) (3 votes [75.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 75.00%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 User is offline   Ferrante90 

  • Forum Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 12-March 11
  • Brigade Name:Skorpian90

Posted 12 March 2011 - 12:02 PM

My position is squad commander doubling as a medium rifleman. I am looking for a lowprofile aoutomatic milsim marker. so what should i get?

This post has been edited by Ferrante90: 12 March 2011 - 12:03 PM

0

#2 User is offline   Cuy'val Dar  

  • 327 G.I.R. Bastogne Bulldogs
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 759
  • Joined: 31-May 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ponchatoula Louisiana
  • Brigade Name:MICHAEL J. CABOOSE

Posted 12 March 2011 - 12:33 PM

Bt tm7 or bt tm15. They look good and rare frankly nicer than the tippmans.
Or an x7 phenom. I love mine.
Posted Image

Doorbells? Seriously? That's the swear filter?
. -Pirate
"Authenticity bro, everyone voids their bowels when they die."
-Guy at end of paintball movie
1

#3 User is offline   cdrinkh20 

  • The Dragon Reborn
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,296
  • Joined: 23-January 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:St. Albert, AB
  • Brigade Name:cdrinkh20

Posted 12 March 2011 - 12:40 PM

Depends how real you want to get... there are always clip fed markers (20 rd clips I believe). Avoid RAP4 if you'd like this, go with a MILSIG. Expensive though, and you have to add on the auto-grip. RAP4 uses same mag system though, I believe they recently came out with their 200 rd box mag..?

TM's will be a better deal, and more consistent... but I've heard of some issues with the electronic boards/eyes (may be old news/taken care of). You will have to use a hopper with them, though - unless you modify a warp feed (not sure how difficult, someone on here modded one into a "box mag" sort of.

Alternatively, you could look at Qloader loaders... but they seem to be a hit/miss.
1

#4 User is offline   Ferrante90 

  • Forum Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 12-March 11
  • Brigade Name:Skorpian90

Posted 12 March 2011 - 01:03 PM

the biggest issue i have is the profile and the speed. i need something with a selector switch yet still sits low to the ground.
0

#5 User is offline   Thalion 

  • Probably in the Shooters Thread...
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2,984
  • Joined: 22-January 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Twin Cities, MN

Posted 12 March 2011 - 01:17 PM

A TM7 with a low profile hopper like a Rotor (stock, not the extra capacity top) will be just as low or lower in profile than an A5 any day.

Another option is to use a rip clip with an X7 hopper on it. Should be plenty low enough for you, and you'll get far better performance that way
Member of Team Akkadian

0

#6 User is offline   cdrinkh20 

  • The Dragon Reborn
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,296
  • Joined: 23-January 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:St. Albert, AB
  • Brigade Name:cdrinkh20

Posted 12 March 2011 - 01:22 PM

View PostFerrante90, on 12 March 2011 - 01:03 PM, said:

the biggest issue i have is the profile and the speed. i need something with a selector switch yet still sits low to the ground.


http://www.milsig.ca/store/
http://www.milsig.ca...products_id=130

Keep in mind though, these are essentially glorified Tippmanns (blowback markers). They will give you more realistic kick though, and no giant hopper on top (though yes, you can switch to hopper configuration).

http://www.qloader.com/

http://www.rap4.com/...s-drive-p-10085

Keep in mind, RAP4 is often known as "CRAP4" - I recall in particular one of their T68 Guns had an issue where when you put the air through the stock, it exploded. Not cool.

The TM 7/15 have a selector switch too - they will require HPA use.

http://www.combatarm...product_tm7.png
http://secure.hostde...images/tm15.jpg

But, you will need a hopper to use... you could probably rig a Qloader to work with it just fine, on second thought.
0

#7 User is offline   Puzuma 

  • That is not dead which can eternal lie,
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Administrators
  • Posts: 14,381
  • Joined: 22-September 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London ON, Canada
  • Brigade Name:Puzuma

Posted 12 March 2011 - 02:07 PM

What? No love for Engler? http://www.englercpb...e=index&cPath=1

Posted Image

Expensive, but they're built around Tippman products (98, A-7, X7, Phenom).
Posted Image
That is not dead which can eternal lie,And with strange aeons even death may die.
0

#8 User is offline   cdrinkh20 

  • The Dragon Reborn
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,296
  • Joined: 23-January 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:St. Albert, AB
  • Brigade Name:cdrinkh20

Posted 12 March 2011 - 02:23 PM

Was that poll added later? Didn't see it before :P

It seemed like low-profile was his greatest concern to I offered up stuff without hoppers :P

Good point about Engler's though - he never gave a price point ;)
0

#9 User is offline   Krazy8 

  • User Defined
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Retired/Inactive Moderator
  • Posts: 2,555
  • Joined: 30-January 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rathdrum , ID
  • Brigade Name:Krazy8

Posted 12 March 2011 - 02:56 PM

Macev Dorne is as close to Milsim as I will ever get again.

And with the release of the new DX Drone Drive Train the cold wether operation difficulties have been fixed totally.

Hands down the Drone out performs what has been discussed.

Does not have a selector switch on the side...it happens to be on the back ofthe trigger frame...takes exactly 1 second to switch fire modes and it can be done without looking or removing your hand from the trigger frame.

This thread is a year and a half old but contains some fine info.

From my understanding all new Drones will have the DX drive train installed and ready to roll from the factory now.

This post has been edited by Krazy8: 12 March 2011 - 03:02 PM

0

#10 User is offline   Ferrante90 

  • Forum Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 12-March 11
  • Brigade Name:Skorpian90

Posted 12 March 2011 - 04:19 PM

View Postcdrinkh20, on 12 March 2011 - 02:23 PM, said:

Was that poll added later? Didn't see it before :P

It seemed like low-profile was his greatest concern to I offered up stuff without hoppers :P

Good point about Engler's though - he never gave a price point ;)



i must have been editing it when you read this thread.
0

#11 User is offline   cdrinkh20 

  • The Dragon Reborn
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,296
  • Joined: 23-January 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:St. Albert, AB
  • Brigade Name:cdrinkh20

Posted 12 March 2011 - 04:22 PM

I'm gonna go right ahead and say the X7 is basically the same as the A5 - just different looks/mods. Except more expensive. I'd get the Phenom over either if you're going with Tippmann, but the A5 over the regular X7.
0

#12 User is offline   Cuy'val Dar  

  • 327 G.I.R. Bastogne Bulldogs
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 759
  • Joined: 31-May 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ponchatoula Louisiana
  • Brigade Name:MICHAEL J. CABOOSE

Posted 12 March 2011 - 05:11 PM

View PostKrazy8, on 12 March 2011 - 03:56 PM, said:

Macev Dorne is as close to Milsim as I will ever get again.

And with the release of the new DX Drone Drive Train the cold wether operation difficulties have been fixed totally.

Hands down the Drone out performs what has been discussed.

Does not have a selector switch on the side...it happens to be on the back ofthe trigger frame...takes exactly 1 second to switch fire modes and it can be done without looking or removing your hand from the trigger frame.

This thread is a year and a half old but contains some fine info.

From my understanding all new Drones will have the DX drive train installed and ready to roll from the factory now.

This. I just forgot about the drone earlier.
Posted Image

Doorbells? Seriously? That's the swear filter?
. -Pirate
"Authenticity bro, everyone voids their bowels when they die."
-Guy at end of paintball movie
0

#13 User is offline   Ferrante90 

  • Forum Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 12-March 11
  • Brigade Name:Skorpian90

Posted 13 March 2011 - 08:13 AM

looking through all the posted options, the qloader package seems to be a solid setup. and with a phenom, i can set the loader to feel like an m16 grenade launcher. realism, low profile, speed. perfect. thank you all.
0

#14 User is offline   cdrinkh20 

  • The Dragon Reborn
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,296
  • Joined: 23-January 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:St. Albert, AB
  • Brigade Name:cdrinkh20

Posted 13 March 2011 - 10:52 AM

You're welcome :) you should do a little research on the Qloader, however, as some people have a lot of issues with them (particularly 1st gen, and some with 2nd and current 3rd gen). People generally agree 2nd gen is best, if you can find them. The owner of the 3rd gen company starting outsourcing parts, so they are more cheaply made.

Also, consider: due to the cyclone being built on to the X7, it will have to be "removed" - permanently. You will need to purchase a new right side receiver body to use your cyclone feed again.

This post has been edited by cdrinkh20: 13 March 2011 - 10:54 AM

0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users