Special Ops Paintball: Tippmann Alpha Black - Special Ops Paintball

Jump to content


  • (9 Pages)
  • +
  • « First
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Tippmann Alpha Black Ask away Rate Topic: -----

#76 User is offline   rodeo 

  • Forum Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: 30-March 05

Posted 30 June 2008 - 02:36 PM

Hi I'm just wondering which barrel can actually fit snuggly inside the Alpha Black shroud. I'm thinking about getting a Lapco Bigshot with an Apex tip. What do you think?

Thanks
0

#77 User is offline   Evil Fingers 

  • ELITE Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 13,979
  • Joined: 22-September 06
  • Location:Sucka Free, Nor Cal

Posted 30 June 2008 - 04:38 PM

View Postrodeo, on Jun 30 2008, 02:36 PM, said:

Hi I'm just wondering which barrel can actually fit snuggly inside the Alpha Black shroud. I'm thinking about getting a Lapco Bigshot with an Apex tip. What do you think?

Thanks

Its hard to tell that the holes on both ends of the ABT Barrel Kit is big enough for the Bigshot, since both ends of the Bigshot is 1" in diameter.
0

#78 User is offline   rodeo 

  • Forum Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: 30-March 05

Posted 30 June 2008 - 09:13 PM

View PostEvil Fingers, on Jun 30 2008, 04:38 PM, said:

View Postrodeo, on Jun 30 2008, 02:36 PM, said:

Hi I'm just wondering which barrel can actually fit snuggly inside the Alpha Black shroud. I'm thinking about getting a Lapco Bigshot with an Apex tip. What do you think?

Thanks

Its hard to tell that the holes on both ends of the ABT Barrel Kit is big enough for the Bigshot, since both ends of the Bigshot is 1" in diameter.


K well since it's 1'' through and through, I'll try and measure right now
0

#79 User is offline   rodeo 

  • Forum Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: 30-March 05

Posted 30 June 2008 - 09:16 PM

The Stock ABT barrel is about .9 inches, so the lapco might fit.

Can anyone confirm this?
0

#80 User is offline   Evil Fingers 

  • ELITE Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 13,979
  • Joined: 22-September 06
  • Location:Sucka Free, Nor Cal

Posted 30 June 2008 - 09:28 PM

View Postrodeo, on Jun 30 2008, 09:16 PM, said:

The Stock ABT barrel is about .9 inches, so the lapco might fit.

Can anyone confirm this?

There is another way to find out, go to the Store (Pro Shop in your Area) that has the Bigshot in stock and ask if you can Test Fit the Bigshot through the ABT's Barrel Kit.
0

#81 User is offline   rodeo 

  • Forum Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: 30-March 05

Posted 30 June 2008 - 09:37 PM

View PostEvil Fingers, on Jun 30 2008, 09:28 PM, said:

View Postrodeo, on Jun 30 2008, 09:16 PM, said:

The Stock ABT barrel is about .9 inches, so the lapco might fit.

Can anyone confirm this?

There is another way to find out, go to the Store (Pro Shop in your Area) that has the Bigshot in stock and ask if you can Test Fit the Bigshot through the ABT's Barrel Kit.

I'm in a pretty small town, so any barrels that I buy are ordered unfortunately
0

#82 User is offline   Evil Fingers 

  • ELITE Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 13,979
  • Joined: 22-September 06
  • Location:Sucka Free, Nor Cal

Posted 30 June 2008 - 09:42 PM

View Postrodeo, on Jun 30 2008, 09:37 PM, said:

View PostEvil Fingers, on Jun 30 2008, 09:28 PM, said:

View Postrodeo, on Jun 30 2008, 09:16 PM, said:

The Stock ABT barrel is about .9 inches, so the lapco might fit.

Can anyone confirm this?

There is another way to find out, go to the Store (Pro Shop in your Area) that has the Bigshot in stock and ask if you can Test Fit the Bigshot through the ABT's Barrel Kit.

I'm in a pretty small town, so any barrels that I buy are ordered unfortunately

Well in that case, send Lapco an Email or Call them directly to get the answer.

http://www.lapcopain...com/contact.php
0

#83 User is offline   Op4Commander 

  • Forum Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: 18-June 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ontario

Posted 06 July 2008 - 08:15 PM

View Postslinkyaroo, on Mar 26 2008, 10:51 AM, said:

Why is the Alpha only available in the US and everywhere else gets the Bravo?

things that make you go -hmmmm.


.



dont know if its answered yet but.... the Alpha Black is sponsored and supported by the US army. the US army isn't going to support something sent out overseas to the other countries, and just so the company didnt get teh oh u gave it to canada speal, everywehre else is teh Bravo One sponsoured and supported by TPS i think, sorry not big on the Bravo yet, havnt picked mine up yet.
0

#84 User is offline   jackal85 

  • Forum Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 01-August 08
  • Brigade Name:jackal85

Posted 01 August 2008 - 04:27 PM

View PostCross Centurion, on Apr 3 2008, 11:35 AM, said:

View Postpigtech, on Apr 3 2008, 07:57 AM, said:

View PostCross Centurion, on Apr 2 2008, 11:20 PM, said:

I noticed you wrote that the Alpha Black is ACT-compatible for future upgrades; any chance of a write-up on that (or is there already one floating around for the 98)?


There's a link in the text where it talks about ACT compatability. That link goes to a review of a 98 with ACT that shows the parts of the ACT and how it works. To convert the Alpha black to ACT you'd basically need the ACT spring, spring guide, spring sleeve, hammer and link rod. The Alpha Black's back plug already has a hole for the ACT spring, and the pins are already in place for the ACT link rod.


So you're positive they will fit? Also, where do you get the ACT components? Do you have to just buy them piece-by-piece from http://www.tippmannparts.com/index.cfm?fus...;categoryID=124 for example? If anyone could identify which pieces you would need from that page that would be great.

edit: http://www.tippmannparts.com/index.cfm?fus...;categoryID=127 says it's more expensive to upgrade to ACT than to actually buy a new ACT gun? I'm assuming this does not apply to Alphas?


I wondered when I bought my AB if it was ACT compatible, as it turns out, it was, and I just bought a 98C and took the bolt out of it. I needed another gun anyway, so my AB has a Cyclone Feed, E Grip, Apex Barrel, Tac Sling, HPA tank and ACT bolt.
Out of curiosity, do HPA's normally use a buttload of air, or what? I have been using a 72ci tank, and I go through it in about 1000 rounds. What's the deal?
0

#85 User is offline   Evil Fingers 

  • ELITE Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 13,979
  • Joined: 22-September 06
  • Location:Sucka Free, Nor Cal

Posted 01 August 2008 - 06:10 PM

View Postjackal85, on Aug 1 2008, 04:27 PM, said:

Out of curiosity, do HPA's normally use a buttload of air, or what? I have been using a 72ci tank, and I go through it in about 1000 rounds. What's the deal?

There is nothing wrong with your Tank, because thats the number of shots you will get from a 72/3000.
0

#86 User is offline   Epic_Fail 

  • The Mad King
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 200
  • Joined: 23-February 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Blair, Wisconsin
  • Brigade Name:*hug*

Posted 01 August 2008 - 06:57 PM

View PostEvil Fingers, on Mar 23 2008, 04:58 AM, said:

The Alpha Black is a 98, just like how the X7 is the A5.

Heres my 98 which resembles the Alpha Black

Posted Image


dude, if you use google images and search "alpha black"-thats image #2

yes i do feel special.
How'd you do that, sexy? - Becc asking me a question.

Aaron: Alcohol sucks balls. / Fen: No, that's what I do. / Me - Fen sucks balls! / Fen - Only yours Epic.
0

#87 User is offline   Piller 

  • Piller
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3,363
  • Joined: 23-May 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Within range
  • Brigade Name:Piller

Posted 01 August 2008 - 08:45 PM

That's actually pretty good efficiency for a 72/3000. HPA tanks don't use any more air, they just take up more space to hold the same number of shots.
Automaggot #123 - Pump User #152 - ICE Epic Owner
"Marketing hype in paintball?! The nerve of some people. After all, we paintballers would never throw our hard earned cash into the magic box of marketing hype."
0

#88 User is offline   Evil Fingers 

  • ELITE Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 13,979
  • Joined: 22-September 06
  • Location:Sucka Free, Nor Cal

Posted 02 August 2008 - 05:05 AM

View Postepic_fail, on Aug 1 2008, 06:57 PM, said:

View PostEvil Fingers, on Mar 23 2008, 04:58 AM, said:

The Alpha Black is a 98, just like how the X7 is the A5.

Heres my 98 which resembles the Alpha Black

Posted Image


dude, if you use google images and search "alpha black"-thats image #2

yes i do feel special.

Yes, you are Special for finding my M4-98.

This post has been edited by Evil Fingers: 02 August 2008 - 05:11 AM

0

#89 User is offline   Hazmat 

  • Forum Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 06-September 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Antonio, TX

Posted 06 September 2008 - 05:07 PM

Here's my Alpha Black with the Q-Loader. I was trying out different ways to mount it and I liked this one. It allows me to remove it quickly and switch over to a normal Hopper if I needed to.

Posted Image
Posted Image

This post has been edited by Hazmat: 06 September 2008 - 05:10 PM

0

#90 User is offline   solidstrike165 

  • Forum Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 14-March 07
  • Brigade Name:solidstrike165

Posted 26 September 2008 - 08:45 PM

View Postdtracker, on Mar 31 2008, 07:10 PM, said:

I love my alpha black. we played in cold weather the other day and all the alpha blacks out performed the A5's on the field. cold weather and cheap paint caused a lot of problems for the a5. don't know why the alpha didn't have the same problems. I have the cyclone mod on my alpha and didn't have the issue with inacuracy or breaking paint. I know the guys who were having the problems ended up barrowing a couple of the alpha blacks and loved them. The weight wasn't an issue as some people have mentioned. I added a tac sling which gave me a lot of freedom especially with the remote. Here's a pic. Keep in mind my opinion is very limited but the alpha is one of the best guns for the money. besides the 98.



RE: your Cyclone mod, is it the same as the mod for the 98 or is it specific for the Alpha Black? This is the determining factor if I get one or not.
0

Share this topic:


  • (9 Pages)
  • +
  • « First
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users